VEGETOS: An International Journal of Plant ResearchOnline ISSN: 2229-4473
Print ISSN: 0970-4078

All submissions of the EM system will be redirected to Online Manuscript Submission System. Authors are requested to submit articles directly to Online Manuscript Submission System of respective journal.

Bakshi Ram


UP Council of Sugarcane Research, Shahjahanpur,UP



Contact Bakshi Ram


Bakshi Ram a distinguished Plant Breeder, assumed charge as the Director of Sugarcane Breeding Institute (SBI), Coimbatore on 28.10.2014. He was serving as the Director of Uttar Pradesh Council of Sugarcane Research (UPCSR), prior to this assignment.He is  graduated from CCS Haryana Agricultural University in 1981 and went on to obtain his Post graduation and doctorate from the same University.Belonging to the 1985 batch of ARS (Agricultural Research Service), he started his career as a scientist at SBI, and subsequently served as Head of SBI-Research Centre in Karnal, Haryana and as Director of UPCSR, Shahjahanpur, UP. He has also served as the member secretary of Uttar Pradesh State Varietal Release Committee.With over 30 years of experience in Plant Breeding, Dr.Bakshi Ram has so far developed 12 sugarcane varieties, one wheat variety and has registered four sugarcane genetic stocks. Among these, the cane varieties viz., Co 98014, Co 0118, Co 0238, Co 0239 and Co 05011 are popular in sub-tropical India. Variety Co 0238 in particular, occupies over 2-lakh hectares in the North-Indian states.Specialized in Sugarcane germplasm evaluation & utilization and in development of varieties for various abiotic stresses, Dr Bakshi Ram is a recipient of several National – level awards and has over 200 scientific publications to his credit.

Research Interest

 Sugarcane, stalk borer, Chilo auricilius, germplasm screening.

Global Experts in the subject

A A Bharose A A Sakure A A Umale
A Bhattacharya A H Madakemohekar A H Suhail
A K Jaiswal A K Singh A R Malik
Aamer Mumtaz Aanisia Zahoor Abd-Alal A Mohamed
Abdallah M Elgorban Abdul Subhan Nazik Abeer-Hashem A. Mahmoud
Adam B Puteh Adili Wubier Ajay Kumar Thakur
Akash Tomar Akram Alanna J Schlosser
Aman Rana Amit K. Awasthi Amritpal Kaur
Anaytullah Siddique Anil Avhad Anil Kumar Dogra
Anjuli Agarwal Anshumali Anubhuti Sharma
Ariel H Polizio Arindam Barman Ashutosh Srivastava
Ashwani Kumar Ayesh Gaur B K Saren
B L Roat B R Chaudhary B S Gill
B Singaravelu B V G Prasad Babu Abraham
Balwinder Singh Bishnu Maya Bashya Brij Bihari Sharma
C S Prasad Carolina Barbosa Malafaia Changyan Tian
Chen Cheng Chen Shu-Qin Chen Wang
Chu Zhao-Sheng Chuanhua Yin Cleverson Diniz Teixeira de Freitas
D A K Deborah D K Srivastava D Khokhar
D. B. Singh D. K. Srivastava D.K. Singh
D.V.S. Raju Deepak Shrivastava Dekui Zang
Dheeraj K Singh Didier Begoude Dnyaneshwar Borase
Dolly Wattal Dhar Du Junzhi Durga Singh Nagar
E Eradasappa Ece Bortecine Kasapoglu Eduardo Alves
F I Ishak F Mushtaq Faheema Mushtaq
Fanjiang Zeng H P Deka Boruah HADJ SAHRAOUI Anissa
Juan Chen Kurt Reinhart L O Sakhno
Malay Kumar Adak Marina Dermastia Muhammad Amjad Ali
Omur Baysal Vivian Zufferey