Journal of Virology & Antiviral ResearchISSN: 2324-8955

All submissions of the EM system will be redirected to Online Manuscript Submission System. Authors are requested to submit articles directly to Online Manuscript Submission System of respective journal.

G.M.G.M. Verjans

Erasmus Medical Center, Netherlands 

Contact G.M.G.M. Verjans


 Georges Verjans studied Medical Biology at the University of Utrecht and received his PhD in Medicine at the University of Amsterdam in 1994, for his studies on the pathogenic role of HLA-B27 in HLA-B27 associated diseases. He joined the Department of Viroscience at the Erasmus MC to start his own line of research on the alpha-herpesviruses herpes simplex virus type 1 (HSV-1), varicella zoster virus (VZV) and simian varicella virus (SVV).

His main research interests are the characterization of the virus-host interactions involved in both the development and clinical outcome of herpetic disease, and the inhibition of viral reactivation from latency within sensory ganglia, in patients and experimental animal models.

Recent achievements of his team include the identification of the route of (ocular) viral HSV-1 and SVV infection, the phenotype and breadth of systemic HSV-1-specific T-cell responses in healthy HSV-1 immune individuals, the identification of the differential immune surveillance of HSV and VZV latently infected sensory neurons in human trigeminal ganglia and the role of acyclovir-resistant HSV-1 in latency and disease.

Research Interest

Influenza, Virology, public health, Virus, infectious Diseases, and Infection

Global Experts in the subject

Amal Ahmed Mohamed H Shakila Mamta Chawla Sarkar
Mohamed Shaheen A.A. van der Eij Abigail Podufaly
Adam B Puteh Adelia Cristina Oliveira Cintra Africa Holguin
Ahmed Eliwa Ahmed Kamal Mansour Akihiro Tamori
AkulSinghania Alicia R. Berard Amal Ahmed Mohamed
Amedeo Lonardo Andrea L. Kroeker Andrea Scherschel
Angeletti S Anila Kristo Anindyajit Banerjee
Anna Wald Audrey Cilli Azhar Jabareen
B Singaravelu Bart Tarbet Bjarne Madsen Hardig
Bryan Still Carmen Rodriguez Chia C Wang
Chiara Stefani Christdas J Christophe Prehaud
Christopher H. Woelk Clara Baldassarre Claudia M Koike
Dante Romagnoli David L Kaufman David L. Wyles
David M You David R Nelson Douaa Rafaat
Douglas Hunt Drishya Diwaker Duri Kerina
E. Bart Tarbet Enrica Baldelli Erica Coppel
Erika Ebranati Fabian Vazquez-Santiago Fabio Curcio
Fernandez-Guerrero ML Fierer DS Francesca Occhi
Francesco Aimone Francisco J Reynaldi GP Talwar
Garcia-Delgado R Gerhard Opelz Gianguglielmo Zehender
Gisela Delgado Glenn S Turett Gnanasekaran AG
Gorgolas M Greg Moseley Gregory W. Moseley
Grijalva-Chon Guia Carminati Guillermo H Sguazza
Guillermo H Sguazza