Journal of Virology & Antiviral ResearchISSN: 2324-8955

All submissions of the EM system will be redirected to Online Manuscript Submission System. Authors are requested to submit articles directly to Online Manuscript Submission System of respective journal.

Jay C Brown

Jay C. Brown, PhD
University of Virginia Cancer Center, USA

Contact Jay C Brown


Dr. Jay C Brown, Professor of Microbiology, Immunology, and Cancer Biology at University of Virginia Cancer Center, USA obtained his BA, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD. He was awarded the Ph.D. at Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA. Dr. Brown was a post-doctoral fellow at MRC Lab of Molecular Biology, Cambridge UK

Research Interest

Dr. Jay C Brown major research interests focus on Structure and Assembly of the Herpes Simplex Virus Capsid.

The Brown lab studies herpesvirus infections that affect cancer patients with emphasis on HSV-1 and KSHV. In both cases, the goal is to examine the structure and assembly of the virus capsid with the idea that such studies will suggest the nature of novel anti-herpes therapeutic agents directed against capsid assembly. Although most of the studies are carried out with HSV-1 and KSHV, it is expected that the results will clarify capsid assembly as it occurs in other herpes viruses and perhaps in other virus families as well.

Studies in the laboratory have defined the basic steps involved in capsid formation. Using an in vitro assembly system, they have recently clarified the way the portal becomes incorporated into capsids as they are assembled. The assembly project has led to the identification of an inhibitor of HSV-1 replication, WAY-150138, that acts by antagonizing incorporation of the portal as the capsid is formed. The lab is now attempting to define the mechanism of WAY-150138 action more closely and determine whether it or related thiourea compounds may be useful for therapy against herpesvirus infections.

Global Experts in the subject

Amal Ahmed Mohamed H Shakila Mamta Chawla Sarkar
Mohamed Shaheen A.A. van der Eij Abigail Podufaly
Adelia Cristina Oliveira Cintra Africa Holguin Ahmed Eliwa
Ahmed Kamal Mansour Akihiro Tamori AkulSinghania
Alicia R. Berard Amal Ahmed Mohamed Amedeo Lonardo
Andrea L. Kroeker Andrea Scherschel Angeletti S
Anila Kristo Anindyajit Banerjee Anna Wald
Audrey Cilli Azhar Jabareen B Singaravelu
Bart Tarbet Bjarne Madsen Hardig Bryan Still
Carmen Rodriguez Chia C Wang Chiara Stefani
Christdas J Christophe Prehaud Christopher H. Woelk
Clara Baldassarre Claudia M Koike Dante Romagnoli
David L Kaufman David L. Wyles David M You
David R Nelson Douaa Rafaat Douglas Hunt
Drishya Diwaker Duri Kerina E. Bart Tarbet
Enrica Baldelli Erica Coppel Erika Ebranati
Fabian Vazquez-Santiago Fabio Curcio Fernandez-Guerrero ML
Fierer DS Francesca Occhi Francesco Aimone
Francisco J Reynaldi G.M.G.M. Verjans GP Talwar
Garcia-Delgado R Gerhard Opelz Gianguglielmo Zehender
Gisela Delgado Glenn S Turett Gnanasekaran AG
Gorgolas M Greg Moseley Gregory W. Moseley
Grijalva-Chon Guia Carminati Guillermo H Sguazza
Guillermo H Sguazza


Relavant Topics