Journal of Food and Nutritional DisordersISSN: 2324-9323

All submissions of the EM system will be redirected to Online Manuscript Submission System. Authors are requested to submit articles directly to Online Manuscript Submission System of respective journal.

Marijan Bosnjak

Marijan Bosnjak
Croatian Academy of Engineering, Croatia

Contact Marijan Bosnjak


Prof.Bosnjak graduated in 1959 at the University of Zagreb, Faculty of Technology (Department of Chemical Technology). got his M.S. degree in 1961, and Ph.D. degree in 1973 at the Department of Biotechnology of the same faculty. In 1960 he was employed by PLIVA, where he worked until retirement in 2000, at the following departments: Research Institute (1960-1961), Antibiotics Production Facillity (1961-1968), and again Research Institute (1968-2000). Besides his position in PLIVA, he participated in academic work as an external associate, at first (until the end of 1967) as an instructor at the organic chemistry practicum (Department of Organic Chemistry, Prof. Viktor Hahn), and after PhD graduation he participated in teaching of Industrial Microbiology and Biochemical Engineering (Prof. Vera Johanides), at first by holding several specific lessons, after that as an lecturer at the post-graduate study, and finally as an Honorary Professor. He published 85 papers in various international and domestic magazines and almanacs of which about 90% comes from experimental work in PLIVA and cooperation with Faculty of Food Technology and Biotechnology. He is also author of several smaller articles in Croatian Lexicon and Croatian Encyclopedia. He is owner of three patents (of seven applied). He is author of reports at 96 scientific conferences, also author of 127 papers (of which 59 are at the international conferences). He participated in several scientific projects sponsored by PLIVA and Croatian Ministry of Science, Education and Sports. From 1991 to 1995 he was leader of scientific project No. 2-15-320 "Optimisation of Chemical and Biotechnological Processes". Prof. Bosnjak twice won the PLIVA Award (1987 and 1992), he was member of the group who won the Award of Technological Culture in Croatia in 1987; and scientific award "Nikola Tesla" (1988). In 2005 he was awarded for life work by Croatian Academy of Engineering (the "Power of Knowledge" award).Prof. Bosnjak was member of the management board of the Rudjer Boskovic Institute (1999), and still is member of the publishing board of the "Chemistry in Industry" magazine. He is also a member of "Matica Hrvatska", Croatian Society of Microbiology (president 1988-1990), Croatian Society of Biotechnology (president 1990-1996), Croatian Society of Chemical Engineers (president 1987-1988), Croatian Systems Society, was member of the Austrian Society for Bioprocess Technology (Graz). As an delegate of Croatian professional associations prof. Bosnjak was member of the main board and workgroup on education in biotechnology of the European Federation of Biotechnology (EFB). He was also responsible for the acceptance of Croatian Society of Chemical Engineers (1984) and Croatian Society of Biotechnology (1991) in the EFB. Prof. Bosnjak is a full member of the Croatian Academy of Engineering (since 1994). The most important of his many scientific accomplishments are: process of conversion of D-sorbitol to crystalline L-sorbose by biooxidation (patent); application of armed solid culture media in microbiology and biotechnology (two patents); production of oxytetracycline and erytromycine by application of repetitive nurished cultures of microorganisms (published papers and patent); effect of concentration of supstrate on bioprocess kinetics of "simple" and "complexe" microbe processes. 

Research Interest

  Marijan Bosnjak research interests are in the field of Engineering.

Global Experts in the subject

Esperance Debs-Louka Abdel Moneim Sulieman Abid Hussain
Aina Olubukola Beatrice Alejandra Moreno LeBlanc Amal MH Abdel-Haleem
Amandio Vieira Ami R Stuart Anoop A Shetty
Bahadır Özturk Bahram H. Arjmandi Barouaca Hassan
Beatriz Bermudez Benjamin M Meador Bernard A Goodman
Biuck Habibi Bryn L Yeomans Chandra Shekhar Seth
Charis Girvalaki Christophe Lacroix Claudia I Venica
Colleen Keller Cynthia Radnitz Djamil Krouf
El Zubeir IEM Eleni Manolopoulou Elfadil E. Babiker
Eman M Alissa Esperance Debs Fateh Singh
Faten Brahmi Gayaneh Kyureghian Gehad Sallah Saeed El-deeb
George L Tipoe Ghazi-Khansari Mahmoud Godfrey Tawodzera
Gonzalo Sacristan-Perez-Minayo Guiuseppe Spano Herrera E
Hesham A Eissa Ian Connerton Ignatius Srianta
Isam A Mohamed Ahmed Jacqueline Isaura Alvarez-Leite Jeanne Freeland-Graves
Jing Sun Johannes Wogatzky John Worobey
Joseph S. Feuerstein Julia Carvalho Andrade K.K. Reddy
Kalaivani Annadurai Kaniz Fatema Kasipathy Kailasapathy
Katerina P Skenderi Krishna Kumar Patel Krishna Prasad Nooralabettu
Laban K Rutto Latha Sabikhi Laura Q Rogers
MA Abdalla Magda Carvajal Moreno Magda Carvajal-Moreno
Majid Aminzadeh Mallory Cases Mandour H Abdelhai
Manisha Mangal Mark D Lucock Érika Bezerra Parente