International Journal of Ophthalmic PathologyISSN: 2324-8599

All submissions of the EM system will be redirected to Online Manuscript Submission System. Authors are requested to submit articles directly to Online Manuscript Submission System of respective journal.

Martin J Hale

 Professor and Head of Anatomical Pathology

Contact Martin J Hale


 He is a Professor and Head of Anatomical Pathology, University of the Witwatersrand and National Laboratory Health Services (NHLS), Johannesburg. He obtained his undergraduate medical degree from the University of Rhodesia and then trained as a registrar in both Bulawayo and Johannesburg.


After qualifying as an anatomical pathologist in 1984, he worked as a specialist at Chris Hani Baragwanath hospital, where he became Chief Specialist Pathologist and Laboratory Head in 1988. In the following years, Prof. Hale was subsequently appointed to numerous management positions, including Associate Director and Executive Manager of Information Systems at the South African Institute for Medical Research (SAIMR).


In 2001, he was appointed Executive Manager of Quality Assurance, Research and Academic Affairs at the NHLS and became Head of the Department of Anatomical Pathology at the University of the Witwatersrand in 2009.


Prof. is an active member of numerous professional and academic organisations. These include the International Academy of Pathology (IAP), where he served as President of the 29th International Congress held in South Africa in 2012, and the Executive Committee of the National Pathology Group. Prof. Hale has a special interest in infectious pathology and has authored numerous publications, as well as presented invited lectures both nationally and internationally.

Research Interest

 Department of Pathology

Global Experts in the subject

Meher Aziz A.K. Akinwalere Abbes I
Abdulraheem O. Mahmoud Adel K El-Naggar Adrian Au
Aida Zairani MZ Alison H Skalet Argyrios Chronopoulos
B.O. Omolase Ben Amor Saloua Bhaskar Srinivasan
Bouzaeine M Brian A Francis Brour J
Cem Comunoglu Chaudhary KP Chi-Chao Chan
Christopher N Ta Christy Guenther Claudia Lizandra Ricci
David Huang David J Wilson Deepak Mishra
Defen Shen Don S Minckler Doutetien C Witelson
Erhan Ozdal Farnaz Memarzadeh Fatih Cem Gul
Franz Fogt G Woodruff Gabriele Thumann
Gazal Alsaati Hakan Sensoz Hamza Malik
Hani MS Harminder Singh Dua Hong Dai
Imen Abbes Ines Malek James T Rosenbaum
Jeffrey Barratt John J. Huang Jorge O. Zarate
Kehinde F Monsudi Kraiem A Lingmin He
Mamata Sinha Guha Mallick Marco Rispoli Mary Ann Stepp
Matias-Guiu X Melissa Vydelingum Meriem Ouederni
Michael Keidar Miguel Jr Burnier Nabil Taright
Narsing A Rao Naser Said-Al-Naief Nesrin Demir
Nobuyuki Ebihara Olinda Faria Olubayo O. Kolawole
Omolade EO Omolase BO Osimar de Carvalho Sanches
Ouederni M Paari Murugan Paolo Brusini
Pratyush Ranjan


Relavant Topics