Journal of Biodiversity Management & ForestryISSN: 2327-4417

All submissions of the EM system will be redirected to Online Manuscript Submission System. Authors are requested to submit articles directly to Online Manuscript Submission System of respective journal.

Stephen D. Murphy

Professor and Chair, Environment & Resource StudiesDepartment of Environment and Resource Studies, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada


Contact Stephen D. Murphy


 Presently Dr Murphy is a Professor and Chair, Environment & Resource Studies, Department of Environment and Resource Studies, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada. He is also Director of the University's Centre for Ecosystem Resilience & Adaptation and Research Chair and Chair of the Provincial Centre for Applied Science in Ontario Protected Areas.  At the University, he currently runs a research group focused on restoration and conservation consisting of 2 post-docs, 7 PhD students, 12 Master's students, 17 Bachelor's students, and 3 co-op students. Steve’s work currently focuses on the theoretical basis for and measurement of ecological restoration and resilience in socio-ecological systems. He has over 600 peer reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and technical reports.  Most recently, he has been a contributor to six chapters in Hobbs, Higgs, and Hall’s 2013 book on Novel Ecosystems and a series of papers in 2012-2013 pertaining to restoration and resilience in parks and protected areas and agro ecosystems. He is an expert in natural sciences-policy interactions and applications and has experience in the academic and practitioner realms of restoration ecology, parks management, and environmental politics, policy & governance

Research Interest

 Ecology, ConservationBiology, Plant Ecology, Biodiversity, Environmental Management, 

Global Experts in the subject

Dipankar Deb Edward Missanjo Fouzia Haider
Harsh Singh Murali Pai Sanjeeb Bharali
Abhijit Sarkar Aboubacry Kane Abua MA
Afework Bekele Ajake AO Ako Elias
Alessandra Piras Alka Kumari Amit Chawla
Anim O.Ajake Anoop Kumar Anton G. Endress
Arunava Datta Ashish Mishra Ashish K Mishra
Ashish Paul Bajrang Singh Bhaskar Datt
Caroline Mtambo Chandrakanth Emani Chockalingam Nirmala
Christopher Potter Darby M. McGrath David LeGros
Dr. Christopher Potter Edita Bagdonaite Edson Gandiwa
Edward Missanjo Enrique Albores Fouzia Haider
G. Murtem G. R. Rao Girma Mengesha
Godar Sene Hanen Marzouki Helge JC
I-Jiunn Cheng Ignacio Agudo-Padrón Israel Dunmade
Jessica S. Kurylo John-Pascal Berrill Kevin L OHara2
Kiranmay Sarma Komlan Akpoto Kouami Kokou
Koushik Majumdar Krishna Upadhaya Kwapata MB
Leif Kullman Luke O. Olang Luke Omondi Olang
M A Islam M. L. Khouja M. Shafiqul Islam
Manoj Semwal Mansour Thiao Md. Humayun Kabir
Miraziz Baltaevich Ahmedov Mohamed Latif Khan Mohnish Kapoor
Murali Pai Muriithi Zacharia Na Liu
Nayan Sahu Qing-Lai Dang


Relavant Topics